Javier Solana

Secretary General of the European Union

March 4, 2009

His Excellency:

There are disturbing reports that the European Union  in dispute with the Iranian government over its uranium enrichment activities, is considering to include Sharif University of Technology (SUT), a prestigious Iranian University, in a new list of sanctions against Iran.

European countries have always respected academic freedom and free scientific exchanges. Even the Sanction laws of the United States which started the economic sanctions against Iran, exclude scientific exchanges with Iran.

Just recently delegates of the US National Academy of Sciences and seven presidents of top US universities visited Sharif University of Technology and were highly impressed with the quality of its research and education, as reflected in their very positive report.

The graduates of SUT who have continued their education abroad have consistently demonstrated their ability to make fundamental contributions to the advancement of science and technology relevant to their fields of specialty. Graduates of Sharif University are among the top graduate students in the best academic departments around the world. Some Universities, like Stanford in the United States, often accept Sharif University graduates without any preconditions. Preventing these individuals who are capable of making fundamental contributions to the betterment of mankind is a severe damage to the advancement of international science and technology.

Unfortunately there have also been rumors that Sharif University of Technology is among the designated targets for a military attack against Iran. We are afraid that if the European Union decides to include Sharif University in the sanction list, then it might be considered as a justification for attacking an institution of higher education. 

Europe and Iran have historical and cultural ties. Iranian universities have always valued their contacts and interactions with European colleagues and universities. We hope that this valuable relationship will not be jeopardized due to some transitional political issues.

Sincerely,

 

 

 

Fredun Hojabri,

Professor & former Academic Vice-President of Sharif (Aryamehr) University of Technology,

California, USA

hojabri@aol.com

 

 

 

Prof. Fazlollah Reza,

Former Chancellor of Sharif (Aryamehr) University of Technology

President and founder of Iranian Academic Association of North America

Ottawa, Canada

dr.freza@sympatico.ca 

Prof. Farhang Mehr

Former Chancellor of Shiraz University

California, USA

mehr33@sbcglobal.net

Mehdi Zarghamee,

Professor & former chancellor of Sharif (Aryamehr) University of Technology

Massachusetts, USA

mszarghamee@sgh.com 

Prof. Alireza Mehran

Former Chancellor of Sharif (Aryamehr) University of Technology

Montreal, Canada

drmehran@lesoin.com 

Mohammad Amin

Professor of Sharif university of Technology

Former Chancellor of Isfahan University of Technology

Illinois, USA

mohammad.amin@sargentlundy.com 

Heybatollah Khakzar

Professor of Sharif (Aryamehr) University of Technology,

Former President of University of Science and Technology

Stuttgart, Germany

H.Khakzar@web.de 

Farhad Riahi

Professor & former Academic Vice-president of Sharif (Aryamehr) university of Technology,

President of Bu-Ali Sina University

Massachusetts, USA

friahi@commschool.org 

Bijan Aalami:

Professor & former Vice-president for Research, Sharif (Aryamehr) University of Technology, President of Taavonie Roustaee University

California, USA

bijan@adaptsoft.com 

Morteza Anvari

Professor of Sharif University of Technology

Former President of College of Computer & Management

Illinois, USA

anvarin2002@yahoo.com

Farideh Tehrani, Ph. D., Associate Director Libraries,
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
President of Shiraz University Association (SUA)
New Jersey, USA
tehrani@rci.rutgers.edu